Buried Alive [RABBIT HOLE 2012]

This blog post has been a long time coming. And when I say a long time coming, I do mean that I promised that I would write it as soon as the event finished, and it finished… a while ago. And when I say a while ago, I do mean the first weekend in June.

The whole aim of the Rabbit Hole endeavour was for each writer in the team to write 30,000 words from 6pm on the Friday to 8pm on the Sunday Night. There were four teams (I think… don’t quote me), three in brick and mortar locations and one team that connected through Facebook and Twitter. The aptly named ‘online team’, of course. The team of which I was a part.

I entered the weekend with apprehension and EXCITEMENT. I stretched my fingers, warned my family, and roped in a friend to help me on the Saturday, I was ready. I was entirely ready to devote my time to my work and my words. I was willing to be a slave.

Because it’s been so long, I can’t say exactly how many words I wrote per session, but I can tell you of the things that we found most useful.

Heat packs.

Heat packs.

HEAT PACKS ARE THE MOST AMAZING INVENTION EVER. Especially when you are hunched over a keyboard and I started to get this tension pain in my lower back which I tend to get whenever I’m concentrating on something. (It’s a problem that I no longer have now that I have an external keyboard and my laptop screen is elevated by Sabriel, 100 years of Solitude, a Neal Stephenson novel and a volume of Gaiman’s Sandman. But at the time it was Pretty Srs Stuff.)

Writing towards the same or similar target as a group of other writers at the same time is the best motivator ever. Seriously, it’s why I always reach my target during NaNoWriMo and never at any other time. It’s why I managed to write 30,000 words over the course of two and a half days, but it took me two weeks to write the remaining 15,000 words of the novel.

It reminded me that I seriously need to push my fellow writer friends into action and form a writer’s group. Writing is not as solitary an occupation as it seems, despite the fact that a lot of it… uh… is.

It’s nearing midnight, I should probably wrap this up before I lose all coherency.

Here’s what I remember;

I remember angering a man in the local library on Saturday when I got really excited and loud about how Nikola Tesla was alive during 1892 and I began to explain to my friend who he was and how he and his work has impacted the Steampunk genre and so on and so on. My friend then stopped me, reminded me that I was supposed to be writing and so I couldn’t start on an enthusiastic explanation of Jules Verne and his contribution to the science-fiction genre.

I remember going out with my friends on Saturday night and being able to talk about nothing but my novel. I remember my friends being very patient. VERY PATIENT. Every writer needs patient friends. Despite the fact that mine forgot that I was with them later on in the evening… but that’s another story.

And you know what? 30,000 words in one weekend is exhausting. But I did it, I actually probably wrote more than 30,000 words if you count every tweet and Facebook post that was made in the process. I won’t brag (I want to… but I won’t). I was one of the faster writers in the group (it’s not bragging if it’s mostly true… right?).

My favourite compliment from a fellow Rabbit Holer was definitely; “ARE YOU JESUS?”

Leave a Reply

